Mercedes-Benz – Formula One

Mercedes-Benz is currently involved in Formula One, running Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport, a Formula One racing team, based in Brackley, United Kingdom, using a German licence. Mercedes-Benz had competed in the pre-war European Championship winning three titles, and debuted in Formula One in 1954, running a team for two years.
After winning their first race at the 1954 French Grand Prix, driver Juan Manuel Fangio won another three Grands Prix to win the 1954 Drivers’ Championship, and repeated this success in 1955. Despite winning two Drivers’ Championships, Mercedes-Benz withdrew from motor racing in response to the 1955 Le Mans disaster, and did not return to Formula One until rejoining as an engine supplier in association with Ilmor in 1994.
Mercedes-Benz returned as an engine supplier in 1994 in a partnership with Ilmor, a British independent high-performance autosport engineering company with manufacturing based in Brixworth, Northamptonshire, now called Mercedes AMG High Performance Powertrains. It supplied Sauber for one season, then switched to McLaren in 1995. In 2009 they also became suppliers of Brawn GP and Force India. Mercedes-Benz returned with a factory team in 2010 after the purchase of Brawn. A fourth team was added to the supplying program in 2014, Williams. For the 2015 season, the 20-year long partnership with McLaren ended. Instead, Mercedes supplied engines to the Lotus F1 team, before switching to Manor in 2016.
The manufacturer has collected more than 100 wins as engine supplier, and is ranked fourth in Formula One history. Five Constructors’ and seven Drivers’ Championships have been won with Mercedes-Benz engines.
Mercedes has become one of the most successful teams in recent Formula One history, having achieved consecutive Drivers’ and Constructors’ Championships from 2014 to 2016. In 2014, Mercedes managed 11 one-two finishes beating McLaren’s 1988 record of 10. The record was beaten the following year having achieved 12 one-two finishes. Mercedes also collected 16 victories in 2014 and 2015 apiece breaking McLaren (1988) and Ferrari’s (2002, 2004) record of 15. In 2016, they broke their own record, achieving 19 wins.